Expand mobile version menu

PROMISE Scholarship Eligible Institutions

PROMISE Scholarship Program Eligible Institutions

The PROMISE Scholarship may be used at the West Virginia colleges and universities listed below. The PROMISE Scholarship cannot be used at out-of-state institutions.

Four-year Institutions:

  • Bluefield State College
  • Concord University
  • Fairmont State University
  • Glenville State College
  • Marshall University
  • Potomac State College of West Virginia University
  • Shepherd University
  • West Liberty University
  • West Virginia State University
  • West Virginia University
  • West Virginia University Institute of Technology


Two-year Institutions:

  • Blue Ridge Community and Technical College
  • BridgeValley Community and Technical College
  • Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College
  • Mountwest Community and Technical College
  • New River Community and Technical College
  • Pierpont Community and Technical College
  • Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College
  • West Virginia Northern Community College
  • West Virginia University at Parkersburg


Independent Institutions:

  • Alderson Broaddus University
  • Appalachian Bible College
  • Bethany College
  • Davis and Elkins College
  • Ohio Valley University
  • University of Charleston
  • West Virginia Wesleyan College
  • Wheeling Jesuit University


Ineligible Institutions:

A student who was awarded but decides to enroll at an ineligible institution may regain eligibility by enrolling in an eligible institution no later than one academic year after being awarded. The student must meet the eligibility standards for a first year scholar, including a 2.75 cumulative GPA and 30 credit hours for a two semester award (15 credit hour for a one semester award). See Renewal Requirements for more information.


Frequently Asked Questions

PROMISE Scholarship

Financial Aid 101

Financial Aid 101

Heading to college next fall? Download our complete guide to applying for financial aid.

Fill Out the FAFSA

FAFSA - Piggy Bank

The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the first step in applying for financial aid for college.

That goes for certificate programs and two-year and four-year degree programs.